The Armin T. Wegner Award

For the vision to see the truth… and the courage to speak it.

In 2003, through the efforts of the Armin T. Wegner Society of USA, the Armin T. Wegner Award was created by the Arpa  Foundation for Film, Music and Art as a humanitarian honor, awarded at the discretion of the executive committee to a motion picture that contributes to the fight for social conscience and human rights, a struggle to which  Armin T. Wegner devoted his life.



Terry GeorgeTerry George – 2017

Academy Award-winning screenwriter-director Terry George was bestowed with the Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award a t t h e 20th Arpa International Film Festival for the feature film The Promise on November 5, 2017.  The award ceremony took place at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.  Terry George was born and raised in Belfast, Northern Ireland.  In 1981 he moved to New York City.  He has received numerous awards and nominations worldwide and is best known for his films “Hotel Rwanda” and “In the Name of the Father.”  He earned BAFTA and Oscar nominations for Best Screenplay on both films.  He won the Academy Award for Best Short Film, The Shore, sharing the honor with his daughter Oorlagh. The Promise (USA, 134min, 2016) starring Oscar Isaac, Charlotte Le Bon and Christian Bale, is a love triangle set during the onset of the Armenian Genocide in the final years of the Ottoman Empire.

Click here for the Trailer


Bared MaronianBared Maronian – 2016

Four time Regional Emmy Award winning documentary filmmaker Bared Maronian was bestowed with the Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award at the 19th Arpa  International Film Festival on November 6, 2016, for his documentary film Women of 1915. The film is about the plight of the Armenian women during the Genocide. It is the first documentary ever to unveil the role of the Armenian women of the era, who lived through the horrors of the first genocide of the 20th century.


Ela Alyamak Aren PerdeçiEla Alyamak & Aren Perdeçi – 2015

Both filmmakers were born in Istanbul, Turkey, however Aren Perdeçi is a descendant of the Ottoman Armenians. They received the Armen T. Wegner Humanitarian Award for their feature film Lost Birds at the 18th Annual Arpa International Film Festival in Hollywood on November 13, 2015. Ela and Aren  devoted five years to creating Lost Birds, an Anatolian fairytale with themes of family and love amid 1915 Armenian  Genocide.


Lusine SahakyanLusine Sahakyan – 2012

Lusine Sahakyan is a professor of Turkic Studies at Yerevan State University in Armenia. Author of three books Dr. Sahakyan spent two years making “Hamshen at Crossroads of Past and Present”, a film dedicated to the current state of the descendants of the Armenians of Hamshen, a people who were forcibly Islamicized (”Turkified”) by the Ottoman Empire in the 18th century. The film explores the practice of forced Islamization, as a form of ethnic cleansing. Lusine received the prestigious Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award at the 15th Annual Arpa International Film Festival  on December 2, 2012.

14th-FF-2011 2

Bryan SingleBryan Single – 2011

Director/producer Bryan Single filmed “Children of War” in the war-zone of northern Uganda. The documentary follows a group of former child soldiers as they escape the battlefield, enter a rehabilitation center, and undergo a process of trauma therapy.  “Children of War” was world premiered at the United Nations Headquarters in New York. Bryan received the prestigious Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award at the 14th Annual Arpa International Film Festival in Hollywood  on September 24, 2011.


Eric FriedlerEric Friedler – 2010

Award winning TV journalist, Eric Friedler (Germany) produced and directed Aghet: A Genocide, which debuted on German national television NDR (Norddeutsche Rundfunk), depicting the annihilation of Armenians and its  systematic denial of the Turkish Government.  Eric Friedler received the Armin T. Wegner Award at the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood on September 24, 2010.


Lucy MartensMarjorie WrightLucy Martens & Marjorie Wright – 2009

Director-producer Lucy Martens (Germany) and producer Marjorie Wright (USA) produced a documentary based on 16 Jewish Israeli voices of consciousness, each representing a different facet of the Israeli peace movement.    Lucy and Marjorie received the Armin T. Wegner Award at the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood on October 25, 2009.


Theodore BraunTheodore Braun – 2008

An Assistant Professor in screenwriting at the University of Southern California, Ted Braun spent five months in Sudan filming Darfur Now, while the world remained indifferent to charges of genocide in Darfur The National Board of Reviews named the multiple award winning Darfur Now one of the top five documentaries of 2007.  Ted Braun received the Armin T. Wegner Award at the Egyptian Theatre on October 26, 2008.


Carla GarapedianCarla Garapedian – 2007

The only American ever to anchor the BBC World News, Carla Garapedian earned her Ph.D. in international relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science before working as a producer, director and correspondent based in Britain. On November 4, 2007, she received  the Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award for her documentary film “Screamers”, a hard hitting film about genocides in general. The documentary features the music and live concert footage of the multi-platinum, heavy-metal rock band “System of a Down”.


J. Michael HagopianJ. Michael Hagopian – 2006

Professor of political science and economics and later producer of documentary films, Dr. Hagopian received the Armin T. Wegner Humanitarian Award in the Arpa International Film Festival, on October 27 for the documentary series “The Witness”, a trilogy about the history of persecution of Armenians in Ottoman Turkey and the Armenian Genocide of 1915 to 1923.

8th FF-2005 hi rez1

Joanelle RomeroJoanelle Romero – 2005

Lyricist, actress, producer and an activist for American Indian affairs, Ms. Romero received the prestigious “Armin T. Wegner Award” at the historic Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel on October 7, 2005 for her documentary film “American Holocaust: When It’s All Over I’ll Still Be Indian”, which reveals the link between Hitler’s treatment of European Jews and the U.S. Government’s behavior toward American Indians.

7th FF - 2004 hi rez

James Miller & Fergal KeaneJames Miller & Fergal Keane – 2004

Two BBC video-journalists, jointly received  the Armin T. Wegner Award for their documentary film “Armenia: The Betrayed”. Unfortunately, James Miller had been killed in Gaza during making his last film on Palestinian people on May 2, 2003. His wife Sophy Miller accepted the trophy on October 10, 2004.

6th FF-2003 hi rezol

Carlo MassaCarlo Massa – 2003

On October 12, 2003, the Arpa Foundation for Film, Music and Art presented the inaugural Armin T. Wegner Award at the 2003 Arpa International  Film Festival to Carlo Massa for his documentary film “Destination Nowhere: The Witness”, a chronicle of Armin T. Wegner’s historic work documenting the Armenian Genocide.